Skip to Main Content

*SLS Site

Services Available

School Library System 

Established in NYS Commissioner’s Regulations 90.18, the School Library System serves both public and non-public school libraries within a geographic area. NYS School Library Systems serve students, school librarians, and school districts in the following ways:

  • Providing regional resources, professional development, and a means of sharing resources among component school libraries via interlibrary loan.
  • Facilitating access to NOVELny and other databases
  • Ensuring access to digital catalogs of regional and local resources
  • Connecting with the New York State Library, as well as public, academic, and special libraries
  • Advocating for the needs of students, school librarians, and school libraries
  • Participating in Inter-Library Loan is a requirement of membership in the School Library System
  • Expanded School Library System services are offered at an additional cost to component districts

Contact: Annie Gersztoff, Coordinator

Follett Destiny Library Manager - School Library Automation (Co-Ser 503)

This service offers access to a web-based library automation program with a central server maintained at BOCES.

Included in this service:

  • Cataloging and records maintenance
  • Patron record maintenance
  • On- and off-site training
  • Database authentication
  • Loaning of equipment for inventory purposes
  • Technical support and troubleshooting
  • Management of software updates
  • Users Group Meetings

Prerequisites: Participation in the basic, state-funded School Library System service.

Additional costs: Barcodes, special equipment, other special requests.

Contact: Bri Pulver, Automation Coordinator

Instructional Media Library (Co-Ser 504)

This service provides teachers with instructional resources (e.g. digital streaming media, primary source documents, multimedia kits, text sets of books, and multiple-copy books) as well as associated professional development.

Included in this service:

  • Streamlined access to all IML resources through AccessIt (separate catalog)
  • Single-title and thematic text sets in multiple copies for all grade levels (print and digital)
  • Streaming videos through ClickView, Learn 360
  • SWANK – feature films
  • Jackdaw collections of primary source documents

Contact: Becky DeJesus, Librarian, Electronic and Media Resources

Databases (Co-Ser 503)

This service provides access to various online databases of each district's choosing at competitive pricing.

  • School districts can receive state aid database purchases through the School Library System.
  • SLS provides technical support, training, access management, and troubleshooting
  • Streamlined access through Library.FYI with link management
  • Ed Law 2D compliance is ensured
  • Training on best practices offered via webinar or in-person
  • Prerequisites: Participation in the basic, state-funded School Library System.

Contact: Bri Pulver, Automation Coordinator