Skip to Main Content
Capital Region BOCES

Career & Technical Education (CTE) I Nursing

*CTE Nursing

Resources for CTE Program

Resources for CTE Program

Purdue Owl

The Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University houses writing resources and instructional material, and we provide these as a free service of the Writing Lab at Purdue. Students, members of the community, and users worldwide will find information to assist with many writing projects. Teachers and trainers may use this material for in-class and out-of-class instruction.

https://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/ 

Noodle Tools

Once you register as a BOCES CTE student, you can make an individual account.

Questions? Email brianna.pulver@neric.org

 

 

Health Reference Center

Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine is the perfect resource for up-to-date information on the complete range of health care topics.

CINAHL

 

CINAHL is the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature. It contains references. to articles from hundreds of nursing journals from the UK, USA and other countries, and links to. thousands of full text journal articles. Not all articles are available in full text online.

Database Vocabulary

  • Database - an online tool that allows you to search within a group of journals for articles on a particular topic. There are many different databases to choose from, and each individual database covers only a certain type and number of journals.
  • Basic Search - General overall search of a topic
  • Advanced Search – allows for you to combine keywords using AND, NOT, OR to present more relevant search results
  • Peer Reviewed – written by experts and reviewed by several other experts
  • Academic / Scholarly Articles - written by experts in academic or professional fields. They are excellent sources for finding out what has been studied or researched on a topic as well as to find bibliographies that point to other relevant sources of information.
  • Professional Journals - a scholarly journal addressed to a particular professional audience such as doctors, lawyers, teachers, engineers, or accountants and published by a professional organization
  • Full Text - that the entire journal article is available
  • Citations - a reference to a book, article, web page, or other published item. Styles include MLA and APA.