Resources for Earth Day on April 22, 2024 and Arbor Day on April 26, 2024
eBooks
These resources can introduce or support a lesson about Earth Day or Arbor Day. Consider using a graphic organizer from the ESIFC to help further learning! All graphic organizers are in MS Word format so you can customize them to your students' needs.
Taking Care of Earth Unit: Essential Questions
https://app.newsomatic.net/units/taking-care-of-the-earth
- How do my actions affect Earth?
- Why is it important to conserve Earth's natural resources?
- How can we reduce waste and help protect the environment?
PK Science: Save Our Earth Collection
https://pkearthandspace.com/subject/120
PK Science: Green Living Collection
https://pklifescience.com/subject/15
Kids Discover Earth Day Resources for Teachers and Students
https://kidsdiscover.com/teacherresources/earth-day-resources-for-teachers-and-students/
Free articles and downloadable infographics
Elementary: Earth Day Information | Arbor Day Information
Middle School: Earth Day Information | Arbor Day Information
These resources can introduce or support a lesson about Earth Day or Arbor Day. Consider using a graphic organizer from the ESIFC to help further learning! All graphic organizers are in MS Word format so you can customize them to your students' needs.
Earth Day Resources
PBS LearningMedia
Explore the Outdoors | Grades PK-2
Climate and Our Planet Collection | Grades 6-12
Human Impact on the Environment Collection | ES, MS, HS, & Spanish-language
A collection of resources that shows real-world effects of our actions on the environment. The collection supports teachers who wish to integrate environmental education into existing Life and Earth Science curricula.
EarthDay.org
Earth Day 2024
- Events
- Toolkits
- Livestreams
- Posters
Arbor Day Resources
Arbor Day Foundation
Earth Day! (UK site)
These books on Sora can introduce or support a lesson about Earth Day or Arbor Day. Consider using a graphic organizer from the ESIFC to help further learning! All graphic organizers are in MS Word format so you can customize them to your students' needs.
The Climate Book by ISBN: 9780593492307Publication Date: 2023-02-14We still have time to change the world. From climate activist Greta Thunberg, comes the essential handbook for making it happen.
The Crayons Love Our Planet by ISBN: 9780593621080Publication Date: 2024-02-20This humorous book shows the beauty of our plant--and why it needs all of us to be complete.
Earth Day by ISBN: 9780778742883Publication Date: 2009-01-15Learn the history of the event, the celebrations, and how you can get involved.
Every Breath We Take by ISBN: 9781580896160Publication Date: 2016-03-08Every Breath We Take is a look at clean air, with a subtle message about how air can be dirtied-and how it can be cleaned up.
Girls Who Green the World by ISBN: 9780593428054Publication Date: 2022-04-05Part biography, part guidebook to the contemporary environmental movement, this book is perfect for future and current activists and changemakers!
Global by ISBN: 9781728262192Publication Date: 2023-04-11Time is running out for Sami and Yuki. Sami and his grandfather live in a village along the Indian Ocean. They earn their living by fishing. But the ocean is rising and each day they bring back fewer and fewer fish. Yuki lives in the far north of Canada where warming temperature are melting the ice. Polar bears have less food to hunt and are wandering into town looking for something to eat. Yuki is determined to do something to help the bears.
Hello, Earth! by ISBN: 9780802855282Publication Date: 2020-08-01We walk on Earth's surface every day, but how often do we wonder about the incredible planet around us? From the molten cracks below to the shimmering moon above, Hello, Earth! explores the wonders of the natural world.
It's Your World by ISBN: 9780399545320Publication Date: 2017-04-04Shows kids how they can make a difference in their world.
The Lorax by ISBN: 9780394823379Publication Date: 1971-08-12Celebrate Earth Day with Dr. Seuss and the Lorax in this classic picture book about sustainability and protecting the environment!
Pandas and Other Endangered Species by ISBN: 9780375870255Publication Date: 2012-07-24Filled with up-to-date information, photos, illustrations, and fun tidbits from Jack and Annie about endangered animals.
Pierre the French Bulldog Recycles by ISBN: 9781632204110Publication Date: 2015-03-10Like most dogs, Pierre, a French bulldog, loves the excitement of digging things up. He hoards his treasures in a hole in the backyard and then makes space for more. One day Pierre tosses some old stuff into the trash can, but he forgets to recycle. Now, instead of being transformed into new things, that plastic bottle and newspaper will sit in a landfill forever! Well, not if Pierre has anything to do with it. He chases the garbage truck through town, but will he catch it in time, or will those treasures be trash forever?
Sydney the Seal Saves the Sea by ISBN: 9781951100094Publication Date: 2020-06-16Celebrate our earth and ocean with Sydney the Seal Saves the Sea.
This Is the Planet Where I Live by ISBN: 9781481465632Publication Date: 2023-03-21This picture book celebrates and honors the interconnectedness of everything here on planet Earth.
Tidy by ISBN: 9781481480192Publication Date: 2017-03-21Pete the badger learns that being tidy isn't always the best thing in this save-the-environment picture book.
Trash Talk by ISBN: 9781459806924Publication Date: 2015-04-01Our landfills are overflowing, but with some creative thinking, stuff we once threw away can become a collection of valuable resources just waiting to be harvested.
The Tree Doctor (Dr. Seuss/Cat in the Hat) by ISBN: 9780375869570Publication Date: 2013-01-08A trip underground in the Thinga-ma-jigger is undertaken, and sure enough, the maple tree needs water (which Things One and Two procure in ridiculous overabundance) and sun (which the Cat suppliments with a Brighta-ma-lighter). But as for getting syrup from the young sapling? That will take some 40 years!
The Water Lady by ISBN: 9780525645009Publication Date: 2021-03-30This inspiring picture book tells the true story of a woman who brings desperately needed water to families on the Navajo reservation every day.
365 Ways to Live Green for Kids by ISBN: 9781605506340Publication Date: 2009-03-18This book reveals how easy it is to be an ecofriendly family and prepare for a better future together.
NY Reads eBooks - Always Available
Acorn to Oak Tree by ISBN: 9780778763871Publication Date: 2019-07-31How does an oak tree grow? Follow the journey through an oak tre's life cycle, from an acorn to becoming a fully grown tree.
The Effects of Climate Change by ISBN: 9781532192739Publication Date: 2020-12-15The Effects of Climate Change examines the many ways climate change is affecting the entire planet and making life more challenging for all living things.
Environmental Engineer by ISBN: 9781641281829Publication Date: 2018-12-15Learn about the day-to-day responsibilities and challenges of this career.
On Our Nature Walk by ISBN: 9781459821002Publication Date: 2020-03-03A gentle introduction to the important topic of the environment.
Recycled Planet by ISBN: 9781445172859Publication Date: 2021Helps readers understand why recycling is important, how it happens, and the problems that arise during the recycling process.
Sustainable Living by ISBN: 9781786379955Publication Date: 2020Learn about how to live sustainably and ways to help the planet through your choices.
Sora Magazines - Always Available
How did we do?
The School Library System would love to know how your liked and used this resource guide! Please help us to better support your needs by clicking here to complete a brief survey. Questions? Ask Becky!